The Worst Bus Stop In Yonkers

I think every person that spends more than 5 years living in the city of Yonkers should take a Bee-Line bus at least once in their lives, whether it be to enjoy the bounciness of the ride, the pitch of the bell that rings for stops requested, or even to simply indulge in a slice of humble pie and ride the democratic conveyance across town.

As a kid, I certainly put in my fair share of time on the Bee-Line bus system.  My Mom only drove a car once in her life and decided that it wasn’t for her. Add in a Dad who worked nights and you have a childhood riddled with bus rides up Central Ave., bus rides to downtown Yonkers, even on occasion, we would take the bus from Cross County, up the hill to Kimball Ave to our house, just two stops away.

In High School, the ride on the #25 bus to Park Ave., where I would then have to decide if I wanted to jump on the #2 bus, filled to the brim with Gorton HS students, to the point where limbs are hanging out of windows due to space issues…OR simply get some exercise and walk the final mile or so to school.  I always chose the latter.

In hindsight, the Bee-Line afforded me many opportunities to be with friends, to venture into different and new sections of Westchester County and to skip school, more times than I care to say on this website and dabble in the fun of being somewhere else other than school at 11 a.m. on a Tuesday.

Recently, I was driving on 9A near Jackson Ave. when I passed by what I thought was an outhouse.  To my astonishment and upon closer inspection, what certainly could be used as an outhouse was in fact, a bus stop for the #5 bus, without question, the worst bus stop in Yonkers.

This thing is scary, even on a sunny afternoon as it was when I decided to pay a visit to it.  With paint peeling, sharp nails sticking out of wood boards and the windows, stained glass but not in the angelic sense, I imagined what it must be like to wait for a bus here day in and day out.

With a bus stop like this, it is only inevitable to have garbage strewn all over the place.  Ironically however, a Sunny-D bottle and a few other items seemed tame.

Electricity?  Not at this stop.

I think I’ve belabored the point enough here.  I guess that is one of the things I enjoy doing on this site.  Showing the polarizing features that make up this great city. Doors to nowhere, stairways to nowhere, swamps, bus stops…it’s all in a day’s work.

6 thoughts on “The Worst Bus Stop In Yonkers

  1. electricity? not at this bus stop.
    coffee and donuts? not on the bus please.

    oh my god that is HILARIOUS! this article has our recipe for a good cut day written all over it. thank you for sharing it 🙂 totally giving me flashbacks. we’re really moving now…

    -carolyn

  2. I’ve been reading these…. Spent 3 hours last night reading most of your articles. I’m impressed lil bro! Not to mention that I actually learned a thing or two 🙂 And as always there is much laughter and a few tears! Love you bro!

    • “Yea…so are you going to have those TPS reports for us today? Umm…yea…well then maybe we should go ahead and have a lil talk…” Thannnnkkks Sis.

Leave a Reply

