Metro Comer Fresco!

 

 

Growing up in Yonkers, I am very experienced in the bi-lingual life that is the reality of the city.  Beginning in the late 1980’s, Yonkers Public Schools began printing out all of their notices home to parents in both English and Spanish.

Now, most places especially large cities have many everyday things in English and Spanish.  Even at MLB or NFL games, announcements are made in both English and Spanish.

So I guess how can I be surprised that the Subway on Tuckahoe Rd. near Murray’s skating Rink has a poster in the window for what is probably the least healthiest sandwich in the history of Subway…in both English and Spanish!

I was down in NYC the next day and other posters had the same bi-lingual advertisement.  Any thoughts on this?  It doesn’t bother me but I do find it peculiar and I would be interested if other people could perhaps submit pictures of this same poster in different locations across the country, to see if the bi-lingual advertising is a nationwide thing or simply an urban phenomenon?

As the commercial goes…Metro Comer Fresco!

——–Joshman

Crecer en Yonkers, estoy muy experimentado en la vida bilingüe que es la realidad de la ciudad. A partir de finales de 1980, las Escuelas Públicas de Yonkers comenzó a imprimir todos los avisos de su casa a los padres en Inglés y Español.

Ahora, la mayoría de los lugares, especialmente las grandes ciudades tienen muchas cosas todos los días en Inglés y Español. Incluso en la MLB o juegos de la NFL, los anuncios se hacen en Inglés y Español.

Así que supongo que ¿cómo puedo estar sorprendido de que el metro en Tuckahoe Rd. cerca de Pista de patinaje sobre Murray tiene un cartel en la ventana de la que es probablemente el bocadillo lo más saludable en la historia del metro … en Inglés y Español!

Yo estaba en Nueva York al día siguiente y otros carteles tenían la misma bilingüe anuncio. ¿Alguna idea sobre esto? No me molesta, pero yo lo encuentro peculiar y me interesaría si otras personas tal vez podría enviar fotos de este mismo cartel en diferentes lugares de todo el país, para ver si la publicidad bilingüe es algo a nivel nacional o, simplemente, una fenómeno urbano?

A medida que el comercial va … Subway Eat Fresh!

—-Joshman
2 thoughts on “Metro Comer Fresco!

  1. I grew up on Prospect St & moved out in 1970 to McLean Ave & Caryl. I tell my kids all the things we did as kids and the fun we had back then campared to what they have now

    • Yea, but perhaps being young…age 30, I don’t think times were “better” then…only because everyone’s youth seems better in my opinion. I dunno, my son is 5 and he has all sorts of nice things do spend his days doing you know, and I’m sure in 30 years he’ll look back and long for those days as well. I do agree though…playing sports and being outside all day is a far cry from facebook and Wii.

Leave a Reply

